“You’re not allowed to speak like that”

So one day at work, during a wet lunchtime, I found myself playing with a dolls house and eating pretend ice cream.

“‘Mmm this is nice” I said. Child X replied “stop speaking like that. The teacher says we can’t talk in a squeaky voice it’s silly”

Straight away I found myself talking in an uncomfortable serious low pitched voice! I never really thought my enthusiastic tone would be criticised by an 8 year old, neither did I realise I had made such a good connection with the children in my class for them to feel comfortable to tell me the rules!!!

Still never embarrassing as when I child stares at your face and finally points (you know what’s coming) “what’s that red thing on your face?” – oh. That spot I thought was hidden so well. 😦

Leave a Reply

